Squad for Asia Cup, T20 WC announced

February 05, 2016 | 02:57 PM | 2 Views
dhoni team for T20 WC squad niharonline

The BCCI on Friday announced the 15-member squad to represent India in the Twenty 20 International World Cup. Pawan Negi is the only surprise selection in the squad while Mohammed Shami returns to the squad. "Looking at the IPL and other domestic T20 tournaments", said chief selector Sandeep Patil. "The advantage for Shami is that there's still enough time for him to get fit".

T20 World Cup will kick start from March 8 and the final will be played on April 3. India's Asia Cup T20 and ICC World Twenty20 squads are identical, and will be led by MS Dhoni. Dhoni's side will have plenty of preparation time with three T20Is coming up against Sri Lanka on February 9, 12 and 14. However, Manish Pandey, India's hero of the 5th ODI against Australia last month, has been ignored by the selectors. India were the champions of the inaugural edition of world T20 in 2007. West Indies and Sri Lanka won the next two editions (2012 and 2014) of the World T20.

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (Captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Pawan Negi, Mohammad Shami.

Latest News

Most Popular