Sangakkara, Rahane conferred with CEAT awards

May 26, 2015 | 12:22 PM | 55 Views

Indian middle order batsman Ajinkya Rahane won the CEAT Indian Cricketer of the Year award while former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara clinched the International Cricketer of the Year honour at a ceremony here on Monday. Former India captain Kapil Dev, who led the country to first World Cup title in 1983, was conferred with the International Lifetime Achievement Award. Indian opener and Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma was given a special award for his record-breaking 264 made against Sri Lanka in an ODI at Kolkata. The awards honour the best of the cricketers based on their performances in international cricketing in all formats  Test, ODI and T20 as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2014 - 2015. On his record-setting knock of 264, Sharma said that he had went in to bat with an open mind as he was coming back into the team after a lengthy injury lay-off.

Latest News

Most Popular